How do you stay organized?

I have to have things written down somewhere and/or categorized in folders on my desktop. In fact, I can easily say that I am much more organized on my computer than I could ever be at my real desk. I have a folder for all of my submissions and keep a document that lists out the journals I want to submit to, organize them by the month they open their reading period, and note whether or not they accept simultaneous submissions. I then have folders for the individual journals that I submit to, and I name each file in the folders respective to its purpose (Cover letter or Submission) and append the date (2014_1) so that I know what year and month I submitted to them last. This will allow me to examine my previous submissions (as I may solicit a journal multiple times) and see if there is something I want to change. If I received a rejection letter, I try to scan it and keep a copy in that folder. I’ve only received two rejection letters to date with personalized comments. One from The Gettysburg Review and the other from The Missouri Review. I keep these notes pinned above my desk so that I can look at them and remind myself that tenacity is the key here.

Are there any strategies that you use to help keep yourself organized whether it’s for your notes, your work, the places you want to submit to? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “How do you stay organized?

  1. OMG. I used to super organized and now for what ever reason, things all became overwhelming. I have been trying to get some order back in my life by paring down to only things of quality and use. Same with computer files. I just dumped some (way too many) architectural drawings of jobs I did a long time ago. That took some real determination to do that for me. It is like losing part of my life.

    • I always try to keep my desk organized, but alas, I don’t think I am very good at organizing my material things. Computer is a lot easier as long as I don’t accidentally overwrite files when consolidating duplicates, lol. While I can easily trim down my material collection, I have a really hard time getting rid of things on my computer. Especially old photos, drawings, writing, etc. I just like having them around for nostalgia’s sake, and I know that the moment I got rid of them, I’d instantly regret it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment below:

